Home | Contact NUI  


23 November 2017  

 NUI Awards 2017 1/3

NUI Irish Historical Research Prize 2017


NUI Awards 2017, Royal Hospital, Kilmainham, Tuesday 14 November 2017

The National University of Ireland is pleased to announce that in 2017, it has granted awards to a value in excess of €1 million to NUI students, graduates, staff and institutions. Most of the awards were presented to NUI students and graduates at a ceremony on Tuesday 14th November in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham.

These awards are competed for annually by students and graduates of NUI constituent universities (i.e. UCD, UCC, NUI Galway and Maynooth University) and other NUI member institutions including RCSI, NCAD and St. Angela’s College, Sligo. Students from the NUI Overseas Campuses, namely Penang Medical College, Malaysia; Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland – Medical University Bahrain and Perdana University, Malaysia are also considered for the NUI Awards and are represented among the 2017 award winners...  more

 NUI Seminar and NUI Awards 2018 Launch 2/3

Conferring of Honorary Degrees 2017

NUI will hold a seminar on 5 December 2017 to showcase the research of 2014 NUI Dr Garret FitzGerald Post-Doctoral Fellow Dr Aline Curtois and to launch the 2018 NUI Awards Scheme.

Dr Curtois will present her post-doctoral research on the topic of "The Significance of International Student Mobility in Students' Strategies at Third Level in Ireland" to which Professor Patrick Clancy, Emeritus Professor of Sociology at UCD will give a response. The main aim of Dr Courtois’ study is to address the lack of research on the experiences of Irish students engaging in short-term mobility for study. The paper examines the benefits of student mobility at individual, institutional, national and regional levels within the context of HEI’s strategies on internationalisation.

This Seminar will be of particular interest to those working in the area of international education, representatives from Schools of Languages and researchers in these areas. More

  NUI Irish Historical Research Prize Lecture 3/3

NUI Irish Historical Research Prize 2017

‘Governing Hibernia and the Making of a Historian of Ireland’
by Professor K. Theodore Hoppen

College Hall, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Monday 13 November 2017 at 6.30pm

The Irish Historical Research Prize, first awarded in 1922, is offered in alternate years for the best new work of Irish Historical Research, published for the first time by a graduate of the National University of Ireland. This year's winner is K. Theodore Hoppen for his book Governing Ireland: British Politicians and Ireland 1800-1921 (Oxford University Press, 2016).

This book examines how successive British governments sought to govern Ireland following the Act of Union in 1800, and argues that London’s policies towards Ireland in the period showed little understanding of Ireland and oscillated sharply between coercion and assimilation.

Full details of the lecture can be found   here

Matriculation Regulations

Matriculation RegulationsRevised Edition
2017 - 2018

Seanad Éireann Register

Seanad Éireann Chamber2017 Revision