Home | Contact NUI  


31 May 2020  

Seanad Éireann Elections

The legal basis for the University Seanad Éireann elections is Bunreacht na hÉireann, Article 18(4) and the relevant Act is the Seanad Electoral (University Members) Acts, 1937- 2015, as amended. Under that Act, the National University Constituency elects three members of Seanad Éireann. Dublin University (Trinity) Constituency also elects three members of Seanad Éireann. The Constitution was amended in 1979 to allow for legislation whereby the University constituencies would include other third level institutions and to date no further legislation has been enacted.


Seanad Elections take place within 90 days of the dissolution of Dáil Éireann - the Election is strictly a postal vote. In the event that more than three candidates are nominated, ballot papers are issued to all registered graduates.

To stand for election in the NUI constituency, a candidate does not have to be a graduate, but must be nominated in writing by two NUI registered electors as proposer and seconder respectively (nomination forms are available at election time) and by eight other NUI registered electors of the constituency as ‘assentors’.

Every person who is a citizen of Ireland and has received a degree (other than an honorary degree) in the National University of Ireland is entitled to be registered as an elector in the NUI register of electors.



Information on candidacy is available here   


Information on voting is available here