Home | Contact NUI  


29 May 2024  

Honorary Degrees on the Past Presidents of Ireland


The National University of Ireland will confer the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD) on the President of Ireland, His Excellency Michael D. Higgins at a ceremony in Dublin Castle on Wednesday 25 January 2012. It is a longstanding tradition of the National University of Ireland to confer an honorary degree on the President following his or her inauguration. Dr Douglas Hyde received an honorary degree from the Royal University of Ireland in 1906. NUI has honoured all Presidents since 1952 with the exception of Dr Eamon de Valera, who was Chancellor of the University while in office.

Douglas Hyde (Received an Honorary Degree from the Royal University of Ireland, LLD in 1906)
Séan T. Ó Ceallaigh 1952 LLD
Eamon DeValera (Chancellor of the National University of Ireland, 1921 – 1975).
Erskine Childers 1973 LLD
Cearbhall Ó Dalaigh 1975 DLittCelt
Patrick J. Hillery 1962 LLD (as Minister for Education)
Mary Robinson 1991 LLD
Mary McAleese 1998 LLD


President Mary Robinson Dr T K Whitaker President Mary McAleese Dr Garret FitzGerald








Signature Roll President Cearbhaill O DalaighSignature Roll President Erskine Childers














« Previous | Next »